The Learning Curve

by Rachel

One of the things that I love about science is that I do different things pretty much everyday. Sometimes a new technique is easy, but other times the learning curve proves more challenging than I expect. For instance, on Saturday, I was not expecting to have to hang out in a new city (Valparaiso) on a new continent (this is my first trip to South America) for several hours, so I had to learn how to work and communicate in another culture in a hurry. On Sunday, I learned how to use a power saw to help build a platform for my mass spectrometer. Yesterday, I learned how to use traditional navigational charts to help plot our cruise track. For all of these things, I was fortunate to have the assistance of other science party team members who guided me along the way and they made the learning curve less steep. One of the special things about life on a research cruise is how every person is willing to help out at any time, and we are all constantly learning new things from each other.

Rachel using the radial arm saw.

Rachel using the radial arm saw (staged picture – I wore goggles and had my hands clear of the saw when I really did this).

Una de las cosas que me gusta de la ciencia es que hago cosas diferentes más o menos todos los días. A veces, una nueva técnica es fácil, pero otras veces la curva de aprendizaje resulta más difícil de lo que esperaba. Por ejemplo, el sábado, no me esperaba tener que pasar el rato en una nueva ciudad (Valparaíso) en un nuevo continente (este es mi primer viaje a América del Sur) durante varias horas, así que tuve que aprender a trabajar y comunicarse en otra cultura a toda prisa. El domingo, me enteré de cómo usar una sierra eléctrica para ayudar a construir una plataforma para mi espectrómetro de masas. Ayer, me enteré de cómo utilizar las cartas de navegación tradicionales para ayudar a trazar nuestro camino crucero. Por todas estas cosas, tuve la suerte de contar con la ayuda de otros miembros del equipo del partido de ciencia que me guió por el camino y tomaron la curva de aprendizaje menos empinada. Una de las cosas especiales de la vida en un crucero de investigación es cómo cada persona está dispuesta a echar una mano en cualquier momento, y todos estamos constantemente aprendiendo cosas nuevas el uno del otro.

For most of us, daily life aboard the ship is quite different from life on land. We have no choice but to turn off our cell phones (no reception), limit internet surfing, and work closely with a group of 27 scientists for 24/7. This is a complete 180o from my normal life, where I send several texts per day to my fiancé, I constantly am on email, and I usually spend my days alone in my office writing on a computer. My favorite break-time activity is looking for marine mammals and penguins; where else do you get to spend your coffee or snack break looking for seals? Despite some drawbacks of living at sea (away from family), research cruises allow me to do something new and fun everyday in exotic locations. I might need to be reminded of this when we are 20 days into the cruise and my mass spectrometer isn’t working…

Rachel, Clara and Nick in the woodshop

Rachel, Clara and Nick in the woodshop

Para la mayoría de nosotros, la vida cotidiana a bordo de la nave es muy diferente de la vida en la tierra. No tenemos más remedio que apagar nuestros teléfonos celulares (no hay recepción), surf límite de internet, y trabajamos en estrecha colaboración con un grupo de 27 científicos de 24/7. Se trata de un 180o completa de mi vida normal, donde puedo enviar varios textos por día a mi novio, yo estoy constantemente en el correo electrónico, y por lo general pasan mis días solo en mi oficina por escrito en un ordenador. Mi actividad favorita break-tiempo está en busca de los mamíferos marinos y pingüinos, donde más se puede llegar a pasar su café o descanso y merienda en busca de focas? A pesar de algunos inconvenientes de vivir en el mar (fuera de la familia), campañas de investigación permiten que haga algo nuevo y divertido todos los días en lugares exóticos. Puede ser que necesite que le recuerden esto cuando estamos a 20 días en el crucero y mi espectrómetro de masas no está funcionando …

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Learning Curve

  1. tim

    Whoa, and you learned spanish realy quickly too!

Leave a Reply

