The Joys of Shipboard Life

Me in front of my purging manifold. Note the spectrum of cranes flying overhead.by Andrew Babbin

I’m sitting having a cup of coffee at 6am in the mess, having been awake since 3 in order to sample my experiments. Sleeping is a luxury on a research cruise… I’ve done quite a number of incubations so far, but they amount to but a fraction that I will undertake.

So what does one do when up (quasi-)alone on a research vessel? Well, reading is always an option but I’m not too inspired to read the Marquez novels I brought just yet. I’d make some more paper cranes except the captain told me there are already enough avian stowaways that I need not add to their number. That leaves taking selfies in the lab and writing the occasional blog post in which to display said portrait.

Me in front of my purging manifold. Note the spectrum of cranes flying overhead.

On a slightly exciting note, however: while the Keil group was deploying their sediment trap incubators off the fan tail a couple of us were watching a giant shoal of squid from the starboard side. Literally millions. Well, maybe not literally, but I did have dreams of calamari dancing in my head.

P.S. It is now around 40 hours since I wrote this post and I am just now getting a chance to post it. (Although part of those intervening hours were spent watching a couple of movies in the lab…)NBP-Cruise2013 52_sm

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

